Celebrating and rewarding the best of the Hornets

WATH Brow Hornets had their annual open age presentation night at the end of last year.

Hornets head coach, Ian Rooney, opened the night by commenting on how all the open age squad had pulled together throughout the season. “It was a difficult start as we knew it would be, but in true Hornet spirit we got on with it and pushed forward,” he said.

Ian went on to thank all the club’s sponsors for both the open age and youth teams who have supported the club throughout the season. He also thanked all the club’s supporters for all their support home and away.
This season’s first teams awards deservedly went to:

No6_1st team Players Player Charlie Thomlinson

Players’ Player: Charlie Tomlinson

No5_1st team Player of the Year Karl Dixon B

Player of the Year: Karl Dixon

No8_1st team Most Improved Lewis McCarron B

Most Improved: Lewis McCarron

No4_1st team Supporters Player of the Year Scott Pink B

Supporters player of the year: Scott Pink

No7_1st team Most Dedicated Player and Captains Trophy winner Callum Farrer B

Most Dedicated Player and Captains Trophy winner: Callum Farrer

Neil Gregg commented on how his team had also worked hard through the season.

“As the only A team playing in the Cumbrian men’s league it is always going to be difficult, especially when we have players called up in to the NCL team when they are short, but that’s what we are here for. The U16s who came in to the team once their own season was finished gave us a big boost and a boost for next season.”

The seasons second team awards deservedly went to:

No2_A team Player of the Year and Players Player Scott Goodwin

Team player of the year and players player: Scott Goodwin

A team player of the year

Supporters player of the year: James McClellan.

No3_A team Most Dedicated Player Jack Meagan

Most dedicated Player: Jack Meagan

The final award of the night was the Clubman of the Year. This award is decided on by the club committee and is picked for the work and dedication done by a individual or a group over the season. This season’s award went to Pat McGrath for all his commitment and hard work throughout 2014/15.