Conservatives keep strong hold on Copeland in General Election

By Rachael Grealish

CONSERVATIVES hold strong as they return the Copeland seat.

Proud family: Trudy Harrison MP with her husband and three of her daughters. Photo by Robert Haile

After only gaining the seat in February, Trudy Harrison was successful in winning back the Copeland seat in the General Election 2017.

Mrs Harrison, 41, from Bootle, said: “I am proud to be representing Copeland… I am relieved that the people have come through.

“Since being elected I have built my team and I have done my maiden speech. I know our vote was strong – the reasons I was elected are still valid and I’ve not been complacent.”

Mrs Harrison won with 21,062, 1,695 more than second placed Gillian Troughton of Labour.

The Copeland turnout was 69.66% – a larger turnout compared to that of the 2015 General Election: 63.8%.

The highest turnout in the constituency was Loweswater Village Hall with 84.56% and the Lowest is Mirehouse Community Centre with 52.66%.

On the evening there was also elections held for three seats on the Whitehaven Town Council.

Harbour Ward was won by Charles Maudling, Hensingham Ward by Tony Lowery and Newtown Ward by Ged McGrath, who has won the seat after the passing of Cllr Ray Cole.

Mr McGrath, who won the seat with 954 votes, said: “I feel really privileged to take over from Ray Cole. I’m going to try and follow in his footsteps, he was a real pillar in the community.”

Full results from Copeland are:
Conservative: Trudy Harrison, 21,062 votes
Labour: Gillian Troughton 19,367 votes
Liberal Democrats: Rebecca Hanson 1,404 votes
UKIP Herbie Crossman 1,094 votes

There was five spoiled ballot papers.